Famed for producing some of the most stylish jewelry and objects of the Art Deco period, the house of Janesich was established almost a hundred years earlier, in 1835 by Leopoldo Janesich (1802-1880) in the Italian city of Trieste.
It was his son Giovanni (1836-1927) who would take the name Janesich to France where he established a branch in Paris in the Rue de Lafayette in 1896. He fostered relationships with many of the top jewellery houses of the period including Bulgari in Italy as well as Boucheron, Vever and Chaumet in France. Giovanni remained actively involved with both branches and helped his sons to promote the company whilst Alberto established himself in the Parisian high society which helped tremendously in acquiring new clients.
He opened an office in London at 179 New Bond Street and by 1913 was in a position to be able to take on another two premises, one situated on Paris’s fashionable rue de la Paix at number 19 and the other in Monte Carlo, opposite the world-famous casino. The firm was producing most fine diamond and gem set jewellery which attracted a wealthy and distinguished clientele including European royalty and aristocracy and in 1925 they were awarded the Royal Warrant of the House of Savoy.
The 1920’s and 30’s were a particularly rich and fruitful period for the firm. They worked with some of the best designers and craftsmen including Alfred Langlois who specialised in decorative compacts and cases (for which Janesich became well known) and who also collaborated with houses such as Van Cleef & Arpels and Boucheron.
Today the business is still operating in Trieste, run by Francesco, the sixth generation of Janesich to head up this family firm with its rich history of beautifully designed and crafted fine jewels and accessories.